1975 50 watt JMP MK II

• Thread starter Canada Marshall Fan
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Canada Marshall Fan

Reaction score
I have a 1975 50 watt jmp mk ll ....it is making a constant rumbling sound....sort of like a distant thunderstorm....I am not tech savvy so I took it to a tech who found a corroded tube socket, replaced that, but did not solve the problem....he had a look under the circuit board and didn't want to dig into it....any ideas on the problem would be much appreciated....i looked at buying a hand wired board for it but id rather keep it somewhat original...really nice sounding amp when its working right.

Thanks, Kurt

FleshOnGear

Harmonic Hermit
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have a 1975 50 watt jmp mk ll ....it is making a constant rumbling sound....sort of like a distant thunderstorm....I am not tech savvy so I took it to a tech who found a corroded tube socket, replaced that, but did not solve the problem....he had a look under the circuit board and didn't want to dig into it....any ideas on the problem would be much appreciated....i looked at buying a hand wired board for it but id rather keep it somewhat original...really nice sounding amp when its working right.

Thanks, Kurt
Hey Kurt. Welcome to the forum!

With a sound like that, the first thing I’d check is the tubes. Did your tech change the tubes? Other possibilities might be leaky coupling caps, maybe dying filter caps, maybe bad potentiometers (especially the presence pot). Do you have access to other techs? I can’t imagine any reason for a tech to say he doesn’t want to fix your amp, other than he’s simply not capable.

Good luck!

Canada Marshall Fan

Reaction score