• We are looking to make improvements to the Classifieds! Help us determine what improvements we can make by filling out this classifieds survey. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful!

Take survey

2 DIY Amp boxes questions

• Thread starter Nuts
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Nuts

Reaction score
Hello everyone !
1. I have a "naked" Marshall TSL 122 that I'm currently building a box for.
It was originally a combo, but I want to put it in a different box, as a head only.
My only concern is if it safe ... I'm not an amp designer or anything like that, I'm just using some scrap wood, is that ok ?
I ordered some tolex and grill cloth online and I don't want it to catch fire from the heat of the amp, should i be worried about that ?

2.I also have a DSL20HR and I noticed that there is no air vent on the top of the amp, like in my trusty JCM900, and I was wondering if this will shorten the life of the amp. should I install air vent by myself to extend the life of this amp ? again my concern is if the tolex can catch fire if I cut it incorrectly ?

Thanks !

Dogs of Doom

~~~ Moderator ~~~
Staff Member
Reaction score
1: just make it to standard head cab spec's & you should be alright. I'd probably be more worried about how strong you do the corners, so that when you pick up the amp, it doesn't just fall apart from the weight..

remember, glue is stronger than nails. Nails wiggle loose. Glue, though, requires a nice straight & even edge on both surfaces to create that good bond.

Probably best to mount the head upside down, so the tubes are aimed upwards. It'll look funky up close, but, 10 ft back, nobody will notice.

2: I wouldn't cut up the DSL stock cab. If you think it's getting too hot, maybe get a small fan & run it behind the amp, to circulate air...

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone !