Blown fuse!! Blown resistors!! Help!!

• Thread starter Pat6969
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Pat6969

Reaction score
Well, kind of help. My buddy said he blew the fuse in his Mesa Single Rectifier V2 so he replaced the fuse and the tubes. Wasn't sounding good so wanted me to look at it. Here is what I found. Looks like the 2 resistors(or at least one) in between the power tube sockets blew. Now I'm a journeyman electrician but im not an electronics tech, can I safely replace the 1K 2watt resistors and give it a go? The board looks a little scorched but all the traces look fine. I can buy a new board for Mesa for about $100 but to me it looks like the resistors.

What do the amp gurus think? Let me tell you I am up in northern Canada about 5 hours away from the nearest tech. I'd love to take it in but that might be 3-4 months from now.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    91.2 KB · Views: 54

Guitar-Rocker

Reaction score
Estero, Florida formerly from Indianapolis
Without looking closely at the power print, I'd guess those two each 1k's are screen resistors that are burnt up. Better replace the power tubes too for those resistors, or find the reason that they burnt up. I'd check the B+ after replacing those too.

Micky

VIP Member
Reaction score
I agree. Chances are bad or failing tubes took out the resistors.
Replace everything and check voltages without the tubes to insure all is OK.
Then pop in the new tubes and check it again.

Pat6969

Reaction score
Will any 1Kohm 2 watt resistor work? Carbon, metal film, etc..

Micky

VIP Member
Reaction score
No. They need to be flameproof.

Jaymz E

Reaction score
You need at least 2 watt resistors, especially if he ever runs EL-34's. Perhaps Mesa will sell you a new board?

I re worked the power tube sockets in my Single Rec and eliminated the PCB,

before,

after,

Nice work Russ

danfrank

Reaction score