Dsl40 Issue

bambam789

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm hoping someone may be able to help regarding my problem. I got a Marshall DSL40 last week off ebay. Been playing it in my shed every day without any problems dialling in my tone. I had band practice last night in our town hall & as soon I switched on I was getting a high squeal whining tone on the red channel. I play rhythm so don't use many pedals but took them out the equation by plugging directly into the amp with the same problem. I tried my spare guitar & the lead guitarist guitar with the same problem. I was all set on calling my local amp repair center this morning but set it up in my shed again this morning with exactly the same settings from last night (volume, gain the same) & it's fine. I even turned it up a bit louder & it's fine.

I must add that I have a Jazzmaster which has a Les Paul style toggle switch & it was worse when I had the switch on the treble setting, it was still there in the middle & rhythm setting but on treble it was worse. I must also say that the clean channel was fine, the problem was on the rock channel (I think it's classed as the red channel on this amp)

Any ideas what this could be? I was certain it was the tube playing up but now I'm thinking it wasn't reacting well to the hall which gets me concerned going forward for gigs how it will react in other venues.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Lee

solarburn

Marshallvore
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
May be tubes. May be guitar and pups. Maybe shit power in town hall.

However i always check tubes first. If not that everything in the chain.

bambam789

Reaction score
Thanks for your reply. From those options I would go for the tubes. As I said I tried 3 different guitars all with the same problem so it's not the guitar. I doubt it's the power from the hall as we've practiced down there for a year with no problems & it powers bass amps & a Fender Blues Jnr no problem.