EMG or Seymour blackouts

• Thread starter Paramedic006
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Paramedic006

Reaction score
I'm toying with the idea of active pickups in my SG. I have been looking at EMG's and Seymour blackouts. I need your opinions brothers. I've heard EMG's are sterile and the blackouts sound good. I have a JB and Jazz and they aren't my thing. The JB in m SG is a little to sharp for me. I might be selling these pickups to if any interest. This is my very first try at active pickups.

mike mike

Reaction score
None. get some good Passives. Trust me on this. Bare Knuckle Pickups are as good as it gets my friend

eljeffebrown

Reaction score
Banding, Snorkeling, High Speed Line Skipping, Boo
Emg's, why, I'll tell you. a friend of mine has a Uberschall and was having real problems with it feeding back.

I said
"dude you are using way too much gain"
he said
"look, I can plug my Gibson in to the amp and stand right in front of it and it doesn't feed back AT ALL"."
I said to him
"what Guitar are you using"
he said
"my Scheter ATX 7 W blackouts"
I said
"that shouldn't be feeding back at all"
he said
"I know right!"

we'll he had it rewired by my tech and we went out to his house in the country and had a jam session with a few buddies and this thing was still feeding back like a madman,

I said
"did you put a new battery in it"
he said
"I put the same one back in that was in it before"
I said
"here, I have a brand new one stick this in that thing, that will fix the problem".
he plugged it in and it fed back worse!
I said
"WTF?"
I said "gimmie your cord dude somethings up",

he handed me his cord and I plugged my LTD EC-1000 W an EMG 81 in it and stood right in front of that Uberschall and it was quiet as a church mouse!

You make the choice!

Jesstaa

Reaction score
Blackouts.
But get the metal version (AHB2)