Fuzz Pedal recommendations

• Thread starter dexter74
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

dexter74

Reaction score
Want to get one for the Class 5. Any recommendations, and do fuzz pedals work well with the C5? Been looking at MXR Classic Fuzz M108 or maybe Fulltone Soulbender. Open to suggestions.

Regards.

V-man

Reaction score
I am a complete noob to fuzz, but my Analog Man Sun Lion should be arriving today (their sun face fuzz and a treble boost in one enclosure). I can tell you how that fares through a 1w JMP later, but no dice for a C5.

With fuzz, you are going to want to figure out your expectations (if possible) and whether you want fuzz or a muff. I have heard some people less than enthused by the M108, and I am not a huge fan of Fulltone pedals. You can always try some EXH muffs and the MXR fuzzface/M108 offerings at GC then decide if they work or you want to return for a higher-end unit.

byrdparis

Reaction score
i've got the fulltone 70th some weeks ago to per with my amptweaker tight rock for that EJ violin sound.
im playing thru class5 also..
sound good to me. but; i never heard others (fuzze's) in my set up so YMMV

dexter74

Reaction score
The Blue Dunlop Jimi Hendrix Fuzz Face kicks ass dude !!!!

Think the MXR Classic Fuzz M108 is the same thing as the JHFF circuit wise, just a smaller footprint, and it has LED on/off indicator and a buffer too. But I could be wrong.

TubeStack

Reaction score
Interesting, I like the clips of this one too. What kind of music do you play, and how loud do you turn up the C5 with the Fulltone engaged?

I play mostly heavy-ish blues rock - early ZZ Top, Black Keys, etc. I'm not a big pedal guy, with my band it's just Les Paul straight into Marshall. Most of the time with my C5, I just set the amp volume to around 1 o'clock and use my guitar's volume for varying levels of gain, no pedals.