How popular opinion of each series evolves

• Thread starter jimmyo
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

jimmyo

Reaction score
Have you noticed how folks opinions of various Marshall’s has changed over the years? Just my observations and gross generalizations but to me seems like some of the various opinions I’d hear/read evolved over time since I started playing in the early 90’s:

1990’s - Man the new JCM900’s suck, solid state is fizzy and for practice amps blah blah. JCM800’s are so loud and not enough gain. Pretty bright too. They don’t make ‘em how they used to, what you really need is a nice vintage Plexi

2000’s - Man the new DSLs suck. They don’t sound identical to 2203. Probably better than JCM900 though, isn’t that the bad one? Probably best to get a JCM800 and boost it and use an attenuator.
They don’t make ‘em how they used to, what you really need is a nice vintage Plexi

2010s - Man the new JVMs suck. No way near as classic Marshally as my DSL. Wow, those plexis and JCM800s sure are getting expensive.
They don’t make ‘em how they used to do try and find a nice JCM800 2203 or Plexi.

Today - er……I guess the JCM900s and DSL are actually pretty good. Wow JVMs have been selling well for a while now, guess they maybe good also.
They don’t make ‘em how they used to….of course. But wow those JCM800s sure are expensive. Are there any original condition Plexis left? Perhaps I should get myself a nice condition used JCM900

Tomorrow - I wish people still played real amps live……..man those JCM900’s are expensive…….

Tatzmann

Reaction score
I only attest with my word for
amps that i owned personally
and tested against tried and proofed
worthy amps... most amps that had a bad
reputation had it for a reason, either
technical or soundwise or both.

DreamerDeceiver

Reaction score
Depending on what type of music you play.