JCM2000TSL - Send/Return Problem

LucaMetalMyLife

Reaction score
Hi all, I recently bought a Marshall JCM 2000 TSL, it sounds awesome, but when I plug any pedal through the FX loop the volume suddenly drops.
If I hit the top of the head with my hand, the problem solves temporarily , but after 1 or 2 minutes of playing the volume drops another time.
I am an engineer and I know how my head works, but I can't understand why there is this issue.
I have tried a lot of pedals like Chorus, Reverb and Delay but the problem persists.
If I plug directly the send with the return of the amplifier with a patch cable the problem occurs.

What can I do?
I have tried to replace some diodes in the FX loop circuit, I have tested all the trimmers in the board and they work fine.
I can't find a solution or even understand where the problem is.

Thank you!

Keep rockin' with <3

scozz

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I’m not too familiar with your amp, but some Marshalls do loose a bit of volume when the loop is engaged.

This occurs mostly at low volumes, and as you turn the amp louder and louder the discrepancy goes away.

Although I don’t recall anyone referring to their Tsl as having this situation.

Others will be along to give a better diagnosis than I can.

Btw, :welcome: to The Marshall Forum.

Mitchell Pearrow

VIP Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I recently bought a Marshall JCM 2000 TSL, it sounds awesome, but when I plug any pedal through the FX loop the volume suddenly drops.
If I hit the top of the head with my hand, the problem solves temporarily , but after 1 or 2 minutes of playing the volume drops another time.
I am an engineer and I know how my head works, but I can't understand why there is this issue.
I have tried a lot of pedals like Chorus, Reverb and Delay but the problem persists.
If I plug directly the send with the return of the amplifier with a patch cable the problem occurs.

What can I do?