Marshall Code - 100 / How to convert it to make it usable with an external head?

• Thread starter John_Bub
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

John_Bub

Reaction score
Hi,

I trust you are well and thank you for taking the time to read this.

I am a newbie here so I hope this post is appropriate in this section.

I just bought a secondhand code 100 for about 100USD and I would like to :
1. use it on its own;
2. use it with a positive grid bias head (I could plug it via the line out but I would fancy using the powered output as I recall it changed the sound).

Is that possible (if yes - how to or where to find the information)? Could they run simultaneously (like a double chain)?

Subsidiary (stupid) question: the code 100 has an 8-ohm output "loudspeaker" - I guess there is no way to "reverse" it and make it an 8 ohm input?

Second subsidiary question: I read that the code 100 speakers are not great. What would you recommend instead (I would rather go with something I might find secondhand - which is the way I buy my music gear :p).

Thanks again and best regards!

John

Last edited:

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I just bought a secondhand code 100 for about 100USD and I would like to :
1. use it on its own;
2. use it with a positive grid bias head (I could plug it via the line out but I would fancy using the powered output as I recall it changed the sound).

Is that possible? Could they run simultaneously?

Subsidiary (stupid) question: the code 100 has an 8-ohm output "loudspeaker" - I guess there is no way to "reverse" it and make it an 8 ohm input?
:welcome: to the forum.
If by simultaneously you mean both amps through the CODE speakers at the same time - no, don't send two powered amp signals to one speaker cab, but you could use the MP3 input from a headphone out from the PG Bias.