Other than guitar what do you like?

• Thread starter mrjones2004x
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

mrjones2004x

Reaction score
Maybe the wrong place for this post but hopefully will get some traction.

Been a member here for some years.
Wondered what other interests people have except guitars/music etc?

Myself, I’m a martial artist. Been training Wing Chun for nearly 4 years.
I’m grade 8 out of 12 in the system we follow and just starting to learn my 3rd form and have been doing basic weapons training for last 6 months. Some long pole and butterfly swords. Quite enjoy wooden dummy technique but it’s really difficult to master.
Love how it’s self offence and not self defence. Attack and block simultaneously.
Originally I learnt the basics 20 years ago with an independent teacher who was insane and thought showing us extremely dangerous techniques was best way.
Restarting 20 plus years later learning how to end a fight immediately, reading your opponent, using their force against them no matter your strength or size.
So interesting as a concept and way of thinking.
Only ever had to use once in life and yes it’s very different in real life to sparing and training but worked quickly and effectively with no injuries except pride.

Anyway enough of me. What other hobbies you guys have you’re passionate about?

Sped up video of first form few years back

Last edited:

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Before I got into building guitars and speaker cabs, I accumulated most of those tools building clocks and restoring antique clocks.

1909 International Time Recorder (later known as IBM) timecard clock:
IMG_1431-s.JPG
1929 International Time Recorder school clock:
20210603_195407-s.jpg
Designed and built this wall clock out of wood and the mech from a non-functioning grandmother clock:
20170528_102810-s.jpg