• We are looking to make improvements to the Classifieds! Help us determine what improvements we can make by filling out this classifieds survey. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful!

Take survey

Pedals for 800?

• Thread starter Ambrosius
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Ambrosius

Reaction score
I've got a '87 JCM 800 head, I was wondering if there were any pedals I should get.

I'm still fiddling around with it, but I'm not getting that crunch I was expecting.

BeëlzeM

Reaction score
A good overdrive. I'm using a modded BOSS SD-1.

And my 10 band MXR EQ in the loop helps alot too.

HOT TUBES 70

Reaction score
+1
i have been modding pedals for the last 3 years , played on countless , when modded
right the boss sd1 is a great little pedal , and cheap to buy and mod .
great in the front end of your marshall!!!!!!

Unknown3

Reaction score
That's odd. I can get a pretty nice crunch with my '87 JCM 800 (though mine is a combo). Maybe you're looking for a different crunch? What settings are you using on your Marshall, and what guitar are you using? Pick-ups?

Ambrosius

Reaction score
+1
i have been modding pedals for the last 3 years , played on countless , when modded
right the boss sd1 is a great little pedal , and cheap to buy and mod .
great in the front end of your marshall!!!!!!

Never modded before, not much of an electronics whiz. But I was thinking about getting a Boss.

What's the MXR-EQ do exactly? I'm new to getting gear.

Ambrosius

Reaction score
That's odd. I can get a pretty nice crunch with my '87 JCM 800 (though mine is a combo). Maybe you're looking for a different crunch? What settings are you using on your Marshall, and what guitar are you using? Pick-ups?

Let's see if I remember correctly, I've got the pre-amp all the way, vol at 1, presence at 10, bass at 8(ish), mid at 8, and treble at 7(ish).

I was using my Charvel EVH model, custom pups.

Unknown3