Request for help: DSL100 power instability on power-up

michibarchen

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I have a DSL100 head that struggles with power instability on power-up. I plan to take the amp to get serviced by a professional, but I'd be glad to hear your take on what may be going wrong. I'm intrigued by the problem, and I hope you may be too. Thanks in advance.

Some background:
I bought the amp new in 2006 with a manufacture date of the same year. I played it modestly for three years, and then stopped. The amp then lay dormant from ~2010 to 2020. It took on no physical damage during that time, and neither was it subjected to the elements or temperature extremes. No mods were done during that time, and neither did it receive any servicing. It just lay dormant. I started playing it again in 2020. It powered up just fine (though I did not use a variac as perhaps I should have), worked like new, and sounded great for several months. It continues to do so, except for one problem.

The problem:
On power-up, the amp does not immediately turn on. I can count up to ~30-35 seconds before the pilot light comes on, the channel indicator light follows, the tubes light up, etc. Once every few power-ups, though not always, the amp will subsequently shut off at random within the first ~30 seconds of power-up, several seconds will then transpire, and then the amp will power on again. Sometimes this repeats, while sometimes it does not. But when the amp appears to have enough juice, it runs just fine. After that, all is well with the amp (as far as I can tell). The amp never again struggles with power while in use.

My insight: