Thoughts on 4501?

• Thread starter Matthewthomas
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Matthewthomas

Reaction score
There’s a Marshall 4501 (JCM900 50w 1x12 Dual Reverb I believe it is)in my area for sale.

I’m wondering what people’s thoughts are about this combo.

My thought process for considering this is to get some variety in tone and I love Marshalls.

I’m a bit limited in my taste though. I don’t play a whole lot of clean tones, but I also don’t play high gain ever. My favourite band/tone is Free/Kossoff, but I like lots of classic bluesrock and rock tones, Bluesbreakers/Beano album to AC/DC, ZZ top, Aerosmith, black crows, etc etc.

I have a JMP 100w master volume 1x12 which is a dream come true and perfect for me, but I also have GAS and would be into some variety for fun, I also have a Friedman little sister and Fargen mini plex mk2, I use them all but the JMP kills obviously. Would the jcm900 be a useful addition? I like a rich Marshall tone that has some flexibility, not looking for anything scooped, fizzy, thin, harsh, etc, which I fear this may be, but I’ve never played a 900. Any thoughts/experiences appreciated, cheers!

marshallmellowed

Reaction score
There’s a Marshall 4501 (JCM900 50w 1x12 Dual Reverb I believe it is)in my area for sale.

I’m wondering what people’s thoughts are about this combo.

My thought process for considering this is to get some variety in tone and I love Marshalls.

I’m a bit limited in my taste though. I don’t play a whole lot of clean tones, but I also don’t play high gain ever. My favourite band/tone is Free/Kossoff, but I like lots of classic bluesrock and rock tones, Bluesbreakers/Beano album to AC/DC, ZZ top, Aerosmith, black crows, etc etc.