1982 JCM 800 2203 runaway bias? (picture heavy)

• Thread starter GuitarIV
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

GuitarIV

Reaction score
So, where do I start?

I got myself a 1982 Marshall JCM 800 2203 about 3 years ago, fulfilling myself my teenage dream of owning one.

The amp was totally mint and serviced, had all the original tubes and filter caps and I got to open it up once with the preamp on 8 and the master on 6. Unbelievable experience. Sexual.

About half a year ago I was playing it at home and after half an hour the sound faded and a low frequency hum started fading in. I turned it off and phoned up my amp tech.

He came over, we fired it up and noticed that one of the EL34s was red plating.

Recently I finally had the cash to order a quartett of Tung Sol EL34Bs and a Bias-Master from TAD.

I am still a newbie in regards to tube amp electronics but I have my amp tech who helps me, I ordered some books he recommended and after I talked to him today on the phone and made sure I understood the biasing procedure I cleaned the table in my kitchen, took the amp out of the chassis and went for it.

Some pictures:

20200708_172322.jpg 20200708_172509.jpg 20200708_172529.jpg 20200708_173438.jpg 20200708_173443.jpg 20200708_173515.jpg 20200708_175538.jpg 20200708_180442.jpg20200708_181309.jpg20200708_181747.jpg

I was a bit nervous as I have never done this before, but my tech told me to take my time, not rush things, follow the "one hand in your pocket" rule and go for it.

After spending the better half of the day on this I can tell you it's not that hard if you're not an idiot. Respect electricity and be patient, then you're golden.

Now to get to the techy part of the thread where I need your input guys: