AC/DC rhythm tone help needed

• Thread starter PaulHikeS2
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

PaulHikeS2

Reaction score
Looking to get in the neighborhood for Malcom's tone with the equipment I already have. I'm using an Origin 5 head with a 1x12 G12H-75 Creamback cab. I have a few dirt pedals - OCD, Super OD, Rat, tube screamer, Tumnus. Guitar wise, I'm thinking of using my GLP Tribute or a 2019 Epi Iommi SG.

Figured someone here could point me in the right direction - just started playing some Back in Black era stuff.

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm using an Origin 5 head with a 1x12 G12H-75 Creamback cab. I have a few dirt pedals - OCD
I have no experience with the Origin5 (EL84) tone.
Head mod?
I'd start with that OCD.
I have an OCD clone (Joyo Ultimate Drive) on my Origin20's and it can get me AC/DC Malcom tones - or as close as I'll get without this...

1725751737073.png

79 2203

Reaction score
For ACDC, especially Malcolm, you’re better just turning the amp up as loud as possible rather than use pedals, but if you insist on using a pedal then don’t have the gain set to high.
Not sure what era you’re going for, but Malcolm’s classic 70’s sound is not really clean, but very low gain. More of a gritty, gnarly, midrangey clean-ish sound.
Do you ever play unplugged ?? Pick up your guitar and really lay into the strings while playing lots of open chords. If you can play even a little like him then what you’ll hear is 90% Malcolm tone. The amp should just amplify that, not add too much compression and sustain.

tallcoolone

Reaction score
MAYBE you could use the Tumnus level up, gain almost all the way down--in front of your OR breathing a bit but no more goose than that.

PaulHikeS2

Reaction score
I have no experience with the Origin5 (EL84) tone.
Head mod?
I'd start with that OCD.