Back to the Square 1 with my JCM2000 DSL 100

jhowe24

Reaction score
Hey everyone, new poster here. I am also feeling like a total noob in need of some direction and advice.

I have a 2003 JCM2000 DSL100 and I recently have been thinking about parting with it. I run the head into a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe cab with 1 12" Celestion G12P-80 speaker in it. I have been thinking about making the switch to a blackface style fender amp or something clean but I recently came across Leon Todd's 5 Killer Tones video where he recreates a Twin Reverb style sound on the JCM2000 and now I'm questioning everything. It sounds great, loud but great. too loud for my small place but I'll get to that

So let me go back to the start like i just bought the amp again. I love my pedals, i run a MXR Dookie Drive and Pro Co Rat. Wah peadal, delay, tremelo, chorus, hall reverb also on my pedal board. I love playing cover songs from Green Day, The Dirty Nil, Jack white/White Stripes, Foo Fighters, Led Zeppelin, just to name a few. Punk, Alternative, Garage Rock, Classic Rock. Is this the right amp for me?

As for how loud my amp is, Leon's tone for the Fender Twin style tone uses the full clean channel and has the volume at 10, and gain about 6, which is pretty loud. For when I'm just playing around at home, is it better to use the Volume Knob to make my amp quieter or use the Gain knob? what affects tone more? espicially since I use drive and distortion pedals?

Thanks everyone. I don't think I really want to part with this amp, I think I need to just learn to use it better and get the most out of it for me and my taste

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
volume at 10, and gain about 6, which is pretty loud.
:welcome: to the forum.
Um, yeah, a 100 amp with the volume on 10 is pretty loud.
DSL's are master volume amps, you can just turn the volume down.