Considering This 1979 Jmp - Please Look At Pics

paul-e-mann

Reaction score
I'm looking at this 1979 JMP, the seller is clueless or a bull$h!t salesman, his ad is full of sales pitch and no fact, and said the amp is all original, I do see an fx loop added, I see EL34 not 6550. Can you all please look over the pictures and give me your opinions if its worth buying. My thought is if the fx loop is crap I can replace it with one from Metropoulis if the holes line up and it fits in the space. If I can get a good enough price I might go for it.

Gunner64

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Looks clean. I would buy it if the price was right.

el_bastardo

Reaction score
Is that really all there is to an effects loop?

You might want to change those bias caps. Besides that, I think it looks legit.*

*I'm no expert.

Rokinroller

Reaction score
Old burned out molested junk . Throw that waste of space in that fire behind it in that picture . . . or buy it only for dirt cheap as a boat anchor .

el_bastardo

Reaction score
Old burned out molested junk . Throw that waste of space in that fire behind it in that picture . . . or buy it only for dirt cheap as a boat anchor .
Why do you say that? What's burned out or molested on it?

Gunner64

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I don't see that. I'd redo the effects loop or remove it completely. Doesn't look like burned out molested junk to me..but I'm not a jmp originality expert. Looks like a fairly clean jmp to me ..and minimally fucked with... What are you basing your boat anchor assessment on?

tschrama

Reaction score
LOL ... looks great.

Only thing I can see is what looks like a passive loop ( or preamp out?) , parallel bias resistor added, and maybe new PI coupling caps.

But is ooks clean and great. I would buy it if the price was right too.

Gunner64

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score