DR strings dragon-skin-plus-quantum-nickel-electric-guitar-strings: Thoughts?

• Thread starter Charvel1975
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Charvel1975

Reaction score

Lo-Tek

Reaction score
No, never tried them as I don't care for coated (generally speaking); I do like DR though- have used Tite-Fits, Pure Blues and Sunbeam acoustics and all were very good.
They seem to make high quality strings.

PelliX

Reaction score
LOL, I have no experience with them either, but the Dragon Skin just sounds so like Snake Oil... Generally DR are good strings, though. Not my taste for electrics, but certainly nothing wrong with them. Let us know how they work out if you do go that route. :yesway:

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I've never used the Dragon Skins, but I've switched to DR Pure Blues and haven't bought anything else since.

Lo-Tek

Reaction score
LOL, I have no experience with them either, but the Dragon Skin just sounds so like Snake Oil... Generally DR are good strings, though. Not my taste for electrics, but certainly nothing wrong with them. Let us know how they work out if you do go that route. :yesway:
I think "Dragon Skin" is just their cute name for whatever they coat the strings with. Some people really benefit from coated strings. For me uncoated last plenty long enough so why pay extra.
Exactly my thoughts. Over the years I've tried just about every sting brand out there and I always go back to D'addario, they have never let me down and they just "feel" right.
Strings are so subjective. I used Daddario only for like thirty years but now I will probably never go back to them. I found many other brands that sound better to my ears- including DR- although DR is not one of my regular brands.

PelliX

Reaction score