Feb 19 Edit Just in 4x12 1960 with JMP (Speakers choice for 2x12 cab)

• Thread starter takeitslow
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

takeitslow

Reaction score
Hi to all,

I've been reading the threads on the forum for the last 2 months, from France, gathering infos about Marshall amps without creating an account.
But tonite, I did it finally just because I should get my new amp pretty soon: after having owned some Fenders, and still owning a Bassman and a Princeton, I made up my mind over a 1980 JMP MV 2203.
My Fenders are loaded with Webers 12F150 and Eminence GASC64 but as I'm new to Marshalls, I really don't know what to get...

I've read threads here, I looked at vids on youtube - especially those from Sweden (with Mr Segeborn) that I've found really cool- and I've narrowed it down, somehow, to three or four speakers.
From all I've heard on the net, I didn't like that much the creambacks or the Scumback though it may be the demos...

I'm left with the Heritage G12M20 that I find really great (and maybe pricey) and the Vintage 30 that seems to be rather great too... But there's also the G12H30 or the Hellatone 60 that seems nice...

I guess I'll be building my own 2x12 closed cab with birch plywood in some bluesbreaker style and size (about 29.5"x23"x11") and I'll do the series wiring (2x8ohms=16)...

I have a Strat, a tele, a LP...
I play clean - but I have the Bassman and the Princeton for that already- and I like the sound of Mr Clapton - Young - Bonamassa - Moore - Slash too ...

Should I go with two of the same? Let's say two G12M20...
Should I mix them? Let's say G12M20+Hellatone60...
How could they sound in that 2x12 cab if by pair or mixed?

Help me pick some speakers for my future new cab please (and I could even post pictures of it while in the building process, in case you're interested...)

Or maybe any other speaker suggestions (G12T75???) I should look at?