Guitarist/Artist

• Thread starter Sg-ocaster
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Sg-ocaster

Reaction score
Ok this has been on my mind awhile now. So my wife went in to get tattoo work(I have none) and her tattoo girl that does the work is a pretty talented artist she has several of her drawing on the wall. So in conversation it came up that Im a musician and play in bands etc...etc.. Later on I say "your drawings are really good, I wish I had artistic abilities" and she say "Arent you a guitar player thats literally an art" kinda offended'ish.
I dont know, a classical pianist yes, a classical violinist yes. But rock guitar? Really aint that getting snobish? Painting an artistic portrait using a wall of Marshalls, a BC Rich Warlock and Leather pants(no I dont have any)....I dont see it. LOL I mean I work at my playing everyday for going on 29yrs and criticize my playing to no end, but an artist? Its not like Im composing syphonies, its rock and roll.
What are your thoughts on rock guitar vs art?

Last edited:

bhatta

Reaction score
I am inclined to agree with @Sg-ocaster !
Most places are institutes of Music & Arts. The music and art are kept separate.

Now, music, they say & I believe, came from the Gods.
And arts are man-made. For God, the entire universe is their art...

Whether rock et al came from god's I leave up to imagination 😂

Geez, I guess that's too deep even for me 😊

Last edited:

PelliX

Reaction score
Now, music, they say, I believe came from the Gods.

This ventures into religious territory...

And arts are man-made. For God, the entire universe is their art...