• We are looking to make improvements to the Classifieds! Help us determine what improvements we can make by filling out this classifieds survey. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful!

Take survey

High Gain Peavey/Mesa guy looking for first Marshall for 80s rock and thrash

• Thread starter JJB79
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

JJB79

Reaction score
I'd have to drive for a few hours to pick it up. I know Marshalls are like the "classic" amp but I have very little knowledge of all their different amps. Now I'm a metal guy so most my knowledge is of the high gain lines. Pretty much what I'm looking for is that "classic" 80s thrash and studio rock sound sound from the 70s/80s so of course I think Marshall. My option here is a Marshall Jcm2000 Dsl head And MARSHALL VS412 Cab for $800 but would have to drive 3 hours to pick it up.

Another option is a Marshall JCM2000 TSL122 used guitar combo tube amp also another long drive for $550

Or a DSL40 Marshall combo amp for $400

The names are just copy/paste off Market place as I have very little knowledge of the different model numbers. NOw as far as my preference of combo amp vs head, I don't mind either as my others I own both.

Since you guys are the experts, what would I be most happy with, and the best deal? HOw is that VS412 cab for example?

Or I could ask a guy I met at work who told me he owns a Silver Jubilee, which I believe is a bit of a newer variety of Marshall, but maybe that might be up my ally? He's not selling it, but I've seen a demo and they seem to sound quite nice.

maico996

Reaction score
I have an '87 SJ 2553 (50 watt, short box) and love it. But I don't play metal or thrash, I'm more in the classic hard rock vein. You can always hit the front end with some overdrive or distortion but for me there's plenty of gain and tone for days.

mark123

Reaction score