• We are looking to make improvements to the Classifieds! Help us determine what improvements we can make by filling out this classifieds survey. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful!

Take survey

How can I not think it's drugs?

• Thread starter end user
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

end user

Reaction score
Another project down the tubes due to someone prioritizing drugs over music. I have been doing the band thing for over 30 years now and in all honesty, 90+ percent of the problems I have run in to can be easily traced to drugs and/or booze in some form or other.

I am a supporter of full legalization so please don't read me wrong but I can't empathize with someone who is so addicted to something that it sabotages just about everything they do.

Another recurring theme that I keep falling for is "yeah I smoke the lettuce/drink/trip, but it doesn't affect my playing abilities".

I can attest that 9 out of every 10 players that have told me that are either bullsh**ting me or don't see it because it most certainly does. Mostly I notice their timing goes south. Sometimes it's remembering their parts, sometimes it's the ability to just show up and play, and sometimes it's them stealing from me.

I am an eternal optimist so I always fall for the excuses. I've no problems with people that want to partake or have a couple cold ones while we gig or rehearse IF you can PLAY THE DAMN SONGS CORRECTLY!

rant \off

DreamerDeceiver

Reaction score
Another project down the tubes due to someone prioritizing drugs over music. I have been doing the band thing for over 30 years now and in all honesty, 90+ percent of the problems I have run in to can be easily traced to drugs and/or booze in some form or other.