JCM 2000 DSL 100 - Hiss normal?

• Thread starter RamoneR
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

RamoneR

Reaction score
I have a JCM 2000 DSL 100 and I am wondering if this is an acceptable level of hiss and hum it is producing? (video info below) As it sounds quite loud tbh.

I have just replaced all the valves with JJ valves and biased to 80mv. There was the same level of hiss before with older valves as there is with the new ones heard in the video. In the video the dsl100 is connected to a 1960A cab. I have tried different cables which seem to have no effect. The guitar is plugged straight into the amp and I have tried two different guitars.

I am not very experienced with this amp so not sure what normal is.

Due to posting restrictions as I am new here I cannot upload a video directly. But on youtube it is video 2uM1lfjmM94 which you can search for.

Kutt

Reaction score
Does the amp sound make the same level of noise with no guitar and no instrument cable plugged in?

Also, do you have any more details on the preamp valves you installed? If they are rated for higher gain they could be contributing to the noise.

It's still somewhat difficult to tell by the video but I am leaning towards that level of noise being expected given the volume you are cranking it to. Others might disagree.

Kutt

Reaction score
Another thought- Almost every pre-owned JCM 2000 I've seen is missing the factory preamp tube shield from V1, next to the transformer. If yours is missing it's possible that it's picking up noise and amplifying it.

upload_2021-8-12_8-13-50.png

upload_2021-8-12_8-16-9.png

RamoneR

Reaction score
Thanks for your reply and for junk notes for embedding the video.

The valves are JJ 3 x ECC83, 1 x Balanced ECC83 and 4 x Matched EL34 bought from ampvalves in the uk and sold as a kit for the dsl.