• We are looking to make improvements to the Classifieds! Help us determine what improvements we can make by filling out this classifieds survey. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful!

Take survey

Jcm800 2210 C38 Cap Marked On Pcb But Missing Etc...

• Thread starter John Boner
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

John Boner

Reaction score
Hi all!

I'm not a compelete newbie to amps&electronics, but my understanding is quite limited. Though now I'm studying to be an electrician (my third vocation...) and I've started to fiddle more with electronics in general, and since I have a degree in music&technology, a better understanding of these things probably helps me along the way.

Anyway, to the subject at hand: I'm working on my '88 2210. The amp has a few issues which I've pretty much ignored for the 15+ years I've had it. The amp has had some work done to it, I followed the schemes today with the amp open. So, the reverb has been acting up every now and then. The amp sat around for quite a few years, I fired it up pretty recently and noticed that the issue has gotten way worse, the reverb sounds weak and when turned up over about 2 o'clock a pretty nasty brumm manifests, it gets a little quieter when dimed. Though I believe I found the reason for it, the pot measured little over 40k ohms on the worst spot and on full dropped some. It's a 100k pot and turns way too easy. I'll find out tomorrow. The 'verb not working properly hasn't bothered me since I really don't need it at all. With my previous heavy-rock band there was a few guitar parts where I would have used it at max but rarely even bothered to hook the footswitch.