Microphonic Dsl40cr

harry345

Reaction score
I got a Dsl40cr from GC about a week ago now and was instantly amazed by the tone on that thing. Hooked up my pedals, a MXR 10 band eq and a Full Tone OCD, and it was amazing. This is now my second Dsl40cr in under 3 weeks (the first one had a bad tube, so I swapped the amp) but now this one is picking up me tapping on my guitar, pedals, cable, even my strap rubbing against me, and it feeds back like crazy. Tried different guitars, cables and my old practice amp and none of them pick up the noises or feed back. I’ve tried going guitar straight into the amp and there is still noise, but only on the Ultra Gain channel. I’ve lowered the gain and volumes all the way and there is still noise. But not on the clean channel. I suspect it may be a bad preamp tube, but I’m by no means an amp expert. Any ideas?

tschrama

Reaction score
-If your guitar cable has suddenly become microphonic, that indicates higher than usual grid leak current. It causes the varying capacitance of the cable (cause by you tapping on it), to push more current through the reference resistor, causing a small AC voltage, which gets amplified etc etc

-Room acoustics play a major role in feedbacking... as well as overoll gain.

-static electricity (different clothes, less humit air) might be influencing the sound you hear when moving your guitar strap.

harry345

Reaction score
Thanks for all the suggestions. This is my first tube amp and I don’t have any spare tubes, and I don’t want to have to buy new tubes for a $750 amp. I’ve heard a lot about tapping the preamp tubes with chopsticks to check them. Good idea?

harry345

Reaction score
-If your guitar cable has suddenly become microphonic, that indicates higher than usual grid leak current. It causes the varying capacitance of the cable (cause by you tapping on it), to push more current through the reference resistor, causing a small AC voltage, which gets amplified etc etc