Votes: 0 0.0%
  • jcm800 2203

• silver jubilee

• Total voters

JKrauland

Reaction score
So Ive been sitting on the idea of buying a marshall for a while. And im just curious as to the clean headroom of the following amps
1959slp
jtm45/100
jmp100w
jcm800 2203
silver jubilee
Any additional insight into the tone is welcome too, thanks.

Matt_Krush

Reaction score
I have the 2555x, while it has a fair amount (more than enough) clean headroom...it will break up before the knobs are dimed...especially with med & high output pickups or any kind of boost infront of it.

I don't own a true jcm 800 2203, but the clone I built will only have max clean headroom using the low input (half of V1 disabled).

The JTM45/100 is basically a Fender Bassman....between that and the jmp 100 mark 2 (I think is) from what I recall on schematics...those may be the best bet for really loud, clean headroom.

EDA: I have no experience with either of the above 2 amps...actual owners/users can correct me and interject please.

spacerocker

Reaction score
I would say, without a doubt - JVM410 on Clean Green

ampmadscientist

Reaction score
So Ive been sitting on the idea of buying a marshall for a while. And im just curious as to the clean headroom of the following amps
1959slp
jtm45/100
jmp100w
jcm800 2203
silver jubilee
Any additional insight into the tone is welcome too, thanks.
The answer is that:
You want an amp w/ low sensitivity...not more headroom.
Low sensitivity means that it takes MORE signal to reach a point of distortion.
High sensitivity means that it takes LESS signal to reach distortion...

So as far as sensitivity goes, the 1959 (which has one stage pre amp) is the cleanest, along w/ any other that has the clean preamp.
Other Marshalls with 2 stage preamp (like 2203 2204 and several others) have more pre amp distortion....and are less clean.

Clue: any amp w/ a master volume has more distortion in the preamp....AND any amp w/ diode clipping has more distortion.