Opinions on Blown Power Transformer

• Thread starter Blake F
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Blake F

Reaction score
Hi folks, looking for expert opinions on an issue. Recently bought a 1969 Plexi 100. It has a weird issue and I want to see if I'm getting anything wrong in my theory:

It has a 120hz buzz that varies in volume with both volume knobs. I'm not a novice on amp repair; I've swapped good tubes, replaced ALL the filter caps, checked voltages, diodes- everything. Filtered DC doesn't have this buzz on scope anywhere. However, my scope does show a 120hz blip ALL over the preamp section, from components to the actual jack terminals and their 68k resistors with no input! I checked all the jacks etc. and they're fine. Pulling the PI tube kills the buzz on the speaker output. Removing V2 (only) buzz still present but doesn't vary with volume knobs. Removing V1 (only) buzz still present and varies with volume knobs. It's not blowing fuses. Pic below is what the buzz looks like and I confirmed it's 120hz from the waveform (8ms).

Thanks in advance.

IMG_1245 - Copy.JPG

Last edited:

paul-e-mann

Reaction score
Hi folks, looking for expert opinions on an issue. Recently bought a 1969 Plexi 100. It has a weird issue and I want to see if I'm getting anything wrong in my theory: