• We are looking to make improvements to the Classifieds! Help us determine what improvements we can make by filling out this classifieds survey. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful!

Take survey

Recommend me a Marshall

• Thread starter juventus
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

juventus

Reaction score
Hi, newbie here

I've decided that eventually I want to get a Marshall. Been playing for almost 5 years with the last 2-3 through a Bugera 333XL combo with an Epiphone LP-100 and LTD MH-53. Very soon (maybe this weekend) I'll be getting a new guitar, at this stage looks like a Gibson SG special faded (new) for around ~$1000AUD.

However, been thinking lately that the Bugera isn't doing it for me tonewise (besides the crappy guitars) and I really like the Marshall tone. Love the Mesa Mark tone too but they are quite dear, not liking the idea of paying $4-5k for a Mark V head alone. When I save up enough again (maybe early next year - I'm only 18 :p) I'll probably be looking at upgrading with amp to head & 2 or 4x12 cab.

Looking for an amp that covers tones similar to AC/DC (I guess Back in Black tone if it's easier), G'n'R, Zep to 80s thrash i.e. early Metallica & Megadeth, maybe Slayer too. Some alt stuff like Soundgarden too would be nice too. I guess the general idea is AC/DCish classic rock tone to 80s thrash tone (plus a lot of which I mentioned was recorded on marshalls).

I'm thinking JCM800 but really sure.

DWK302

Reaction score
JCM800, Vintage Modern or YJM. Can't go wrong with any of them.

juventus

Reaction score
JVM410 head. 4 channels x 3 modes per channel=versatility heaven

I saw that. Is that more of a jack of all trades master of none? Because that's kind of what I have now or does it really nail each type of tone?

Tails

Reaction score