So I Got Laid Off...

• Thread starter GuitarIV
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

GuitarIV

Reaction score
Kinda saw it coming. But getting called to the bosses office yesterday and hearing the words felt like a smack in the face.

I am a student and as such I work part time as a waiter/barkeeper to keep me financially afloat. I can't do fulltime because studying and life and such.

I got this job around fall/wintertime when the place is the busiest and they are in desperate need of helping hands and it was all well, I got my hours, tips were good and it was never boring, plenty of customers, you're busy all the time and the shifts are over fast.

Around comes new years and January. Business dropped. Suddenly the place isn't half as full as it used to be. Hell we regularly had to send people away if they walked in without a prior reservation.

This continued through February and now March. All the other people that got hired during winterseason were let go, slowly but surely. My hours got reduced. I knew what was coming.

Now all is fine and dandy, I left calmly, said my goodbyes, the boss told me I can always come back when winterseason comes around again.

What pisses me off is that a few workers that came after me and do the full hours are now the new team. Sure, it took them months to learn what I already knew from working in the bar/restaurant branch for years now, but now they know how to work the place and all of a sudden there's no need for me anymore. Screw the fact that I speak 3 languages fluently. Nobody pays me extra for that anyway.

I won't vent, I just can't deny I'm kinda angry.

I'll go on unemployment till the end of month, cash in some money from the state and use the time to find a new job. Why not, I mean I pay taxes after all.