• We are looking to make improvements to the Classifieds! Help us determine what improvements we can make by filling out this classifieds survey. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful!

Take survey

Speaker break in question.

• Thread starter speyfly
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

speyfly

Reaction score
Hi guys, I have a new 16 ohm Creamback and was thinking about using audio tones to do the break in while I'm at work and I'm leery of using one of my tube amps to do that, don't like the thought of one of them being on for 8 hours.

That being said, I have an old SS Marshall MG30dfx but it's a 4 ohm amp and since its not an ohm match and I don't want to burn down the house along with all my gear, what's your thoughts on this!

Thx

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, I have a new 16 ohm Creamback and was thinking about using audio tones to do the break in while I'm at work and I'm leery of using one of my tube amps to do that, don't like the thought of one of them being on for 8 hours.

That being said, I have an old SS Marshall MG30dfx but it's a 4 ohm amp and since its not an ohm match and I don't want to burn down the house along with all my gear, what's your thoughts on this!

Thx
16 ohm speaker on a 4 ohm SS amp will just lower the output watts to about 1/2 of amp rating.
Double safe leaving it loop tunes through the new cone. :yesway:

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi fitz, can always count on you and your knowledge to help a brother out :thumb:.
So the power trans will run cooler?
Counting on my knowledge could be potentially hazardous. :rofl:
But old Marshall SS amp manuals list the output watts reduction when running higher ohm speakers.
I used to run two 8 ohm cabs in series for 16 ohms into my 3210 to cut it down to about 50w.

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score