Suggestions on Playing Lead guitar

• Thread starter Marshall Stack
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Marshall Stack

Reaction score
I am embarrassed to say that I have been playing guitar for 35 years and still suck at playing lead guitar. I have been in a cover band and played a little lead guitar but I was just memorizing the leads that I figured out, got from sheet music or tab sheets. If someone had asked me to improvise, I would have wet myself.

Over the years I have collected various books. I have Mel Bay books (not real into playing "Go Tell Aunt Rhodie"), books on using Modes, Fretboard Logic, even "rock Guitar for Dummies". I am overwhelmed and suffering from information overload.

What is the "best' way to learn playing leads? The other guitar player that I was in a band pretty much just played the Pentatonic lead over everything he did. I just don't get how someone can memorize all the scales for all of the keys....

Dogs of Doom

~~~ Moderator ~~~
Staff Member
Reaction score
Well, re: "all the keys" It's really all the scales & modes for 1 key, then it's chromatic.

example: You learn the E major scale. The F major is the exact same formula, & so is F# major, G major, G# major, A major, etc. Same goes w/ the minor.

When you learn the Major scale & all the modes, they translate the same up & down the neck. Triad theory works the same.

So, as far as technical learning, it's mechanical.

As far as originality, that just comes by developing your ear & taste, then putting it into sound. Michael Schenker constantly says, if you want to be original, stop copying...

scat7s

VIP Member
Reaction score
Michael Schenker constantly says, if you want to be original, stop copying...

indeed. you copy when your young, figuring it all out. at some point you have to leave the safety of the nest and spread your wings, if originality is a goal.

Marshall Stack

Reaction score