1977 Jmp Non Master Volume "1 Wire Mod Help" I Know Im Sorry

Pelvisbuster

Reaction score
I KNOW ITS BEEN DONE TO DEATH AND IM SO SORRY TO ASK AGAIN BUT PLEASE PLEASE HELP ME. I have a 1977 Jmp non master volume 1987 model 50 watt plexi. I have installed the LAR/MAR MV mod,and cascaded the front end. I have searched and searched and searched for a component lay for THE PBC VERSION..and its nowhere to be found. It would be such a huge help. I cant seem to get the gain right. When volume 1 is all the way up..its really ugly sounding. it cant be raised higher than 8 or it just sound like bee's pissed off in a fart can.. like its over driving the preamp tube(s) or something similar. The treble is too much until its below 5-6. The bass doesnt do much except cause the sound to me muddy, or jumble the sound up..no seperation in the notes , but without the presence of actual bass.. as if there are no low mids in the sound. Is there cap/resister values to get this all in order? I need help.. Im new here,and Im not an amp builder. Im have extremely good soldering skills,and very mechanically inclined. I know what the compnents do,just dont know how the act or react in a circuit. I can take pictures..or list whatever is necessary to get the help I need.. Please be gentle guys.. Im sorry to ask this same stuff again..but everything Ive read so far, just seems so vague. Only part component layout that I can find is the point to point wiring.. having a horrible time trying to get the right information. by the way,my name is Ben,and thank you so much in advance:applause:

Pelvisbuster

Reaction score
Oh,also meant to say that it has KT88's in the power stage and are fresh. biased properly..also changed preamp tubes over and over with 7-8 that i have here to make sure its not a preamp tube.

Pelvisbuster

Reaction score
Help... Anyone? I have this amp tore down on my desk.. useless in all it's glory.:-(
I'd be very grateful for anyone's knowledge to help me clear this up.