Another Swede 2024-03

• Thread starter Marshboy
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Marshboy

Reaction score
So, a few words about me and my history of Marshall amps/equipment.
Perhaps a bit long winded introduction, but please select what you think is informative. and disregard the rest

When I started playing in the 80s, off course I wanted a Marshall, espessially as the other guitarist in our teenage punk rock band had a marshall head with a 4x12.
But for some reason I got an 100w head (which I don´t remember what it was) with a (very good) 2x12, but somhehow I got could not be clearly heard between the silly loud drummer and the other guitarist 100w Marshall.
So, wiyhout any knowledge, I got a Marshall 4x15 cab in hope I could be heard, and it surely helped but perhaps was´nt the most effective solution.
Today, I wonder what that cab was, a bass cab? One of the few 4x15 guitar cabs Marshall ever made? I traded i many years aga for a crappy Peavy combo.....
I wonder whar I paid for this, I remember that all 5 of us in the band had to pitch in to buy a 4-5(?) channel mixer, you know a variant with a small tape recorder that could be found for 125 euros today, but better!

My appreciation for the Marshall sound have never deminished, and as I´ve gotten back to guitar playing again since a few years, my tone search have awakened again!
I started with the old Peavey from the 80s, but that soon died on me, got som other small amps to get me by, but when we got a new band together I started the never ending search for the next amp.
So, a list, excluding the less interesting amps for this forum (as most of us, Ive tried and have to many amps):
Boss Katana: To be honest, this could be my only amp if I just wanted to get the job done. With a Redback speaker and some deep diving in to the software, it is very, very good. But what is the fun of being satisfied with a very good substitute?