Outdoor Gig And Humidity = Sticky Guitar!

paul-e-mann

Reaction score
I had an outdoor gig a couple weeks ago and it was so hot and humid it made my guitar sticky, never experienced anything like this before! It was almost unplayable and I wasnt prepared for this. What to do about this? I was thinking put some Fast Fret on the fretboard and back of the neck to slick it up as a work around if I ever experience this again. This is my first time gigging in decades and I'm used to playing indoor stages so this was a first for me and I know I will have more outdoor gigs to come with this band!

6knobs

Reaction score
If your neck is painted, either polish the crap out of it or sand it and tru-oil for a nice satin finish. For body paint (where your arm rests), again polish the crap out it.

For your hands, grab some Dry 'n Glide or a powder, like corn starch or Caldesene. Basically anything that will absorb the moisture, similar to what pool players use to keep the cue stick moving smoothly.

Kinkless Tetrode

Reaction score
Is it a nitro finish? You might try polishing it with polishing compound to clean it up and then try some of that ceramic auto wax where your arm lays across the body to keep the nitro from getting wooly feeling. For the back of the neck I sometimes run some 800# grit wet sanding lightly over nitro on my own guitars. It will dull the finish, so be warned if that matters to you.

If it's high gloss poly then any wet sanding will scratch it, so I hate to make suggestions for somebody elses guitars.

V-man

Reaction score
Nitro will be sticky. The “scotchbrite” trick will not help much, IMO if your hands are going to be wet from perspiration. Fast fret is a good idea. Assuming you aren’t on a summer tour festival circuit, well…unpleasant experience had. Maybe remember a microfiber cloth tucked in your waistband btw songs for the neck if you ever do it again sometime in the future.