Preamp tubes really do change the sound **noob here lol

• Thread starter Vegas strip
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.

Vegas strip

Reaction score
Please understand I'm a total noob to tube amps.

Hey guys! Last week I knew 1 of my JJ ecc83 preamp tube in my 69 superbass was starting to go out after I swapped from V3 to V1. I had a few extra tubes that were in the amp after I bought it "Electro Harmonix" and a unbranded made in china ecc83. Surprisingly EH didn't light up at all and Made in China did lol.

After replacing the V1, I couldn't believe how much the sound changed in terms of gain, clarity and brightness. Perhaps tomorrow I will switch the V1 to V2 socket and hear how that sounds.

I forgot to mention I know I have a Raytheon brand tube but can't seem to find it right now. Are these any good?

Still waiting on my order from TubeDepot but can't wait to experiment with more tubes. I'm sick of changing guitar pickups and adjusting them when a simple tube swap could of done justice.

Any preamp tube recommendation for the ultimate 70s rock / hard rock sound. Currently I'm into Jimmy Page and his amp sound is awesome. Preferably enjoy the sound from How the west was won era, 73 SouthHampton tour, 75-79 tour sound. Not too big of a fan of the Garden tour. I know...... Something about it, I just don't like.

Thanks guys.

Matthews Guitars

Reaction score
Though some people deny it, yes, preamp tube changes can change the tone of an amp considerably.

Not too long ago a friend sent me his later version 5150 for service because it sounded bad. I found it full of Chinese 12AX7s.

I swapped them out for a variety of other preamp tubes, a combination of Mullard, JJ, and EH reissues, and it made a substantial
change to the tone of the amp, for the better. It changed the amp from sounding quite bad to quite good. It was the most extreme