SV20H - Buyers remorse ? Cabinet size, Noobie in need of advice

• Thread starter Hendrix_fan1990
  • Start date
  • This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links like Ebay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

I've recently Purchased the SV20H with a 2x12 cabinet. I also use a Harley Benton pa-100 Attenuator. I'm completely new to Marshal amps and I'm a MASSIVE Hendrix fan. I'm not well versed in gear and amplifiers so please forgive my lack of understanding of things. My goal was to get a great Hendrix tone, at bedroom levels.....with an attenuator (yea I know, not easy Jimi played loud, SV20H is LOUD etc...)

Got a little bit of a dilemma. I'm beginning to have buyers remorse and think I made a mistake buying this amp.

A few issues I have:

* The physical Cabinet size ( fitted with 2 x Bass cone 55Hz Heritage Greenbacks ) :
1). The SV20H with the cab (upright cabinet) is a little big for my box room. Sure I measured up and it sits in the corner of my box room ok. But its VERY chunky (or as I like to call it "Chonky"). It looked "thinner" in the YouTube videos I've seen, I think the upright 2x12 was a mistake. A smaller cab would suit my room a lot better. The look of the amp isn't bad, it just seems to be "extra", its almost as if it has this over whelming presence.

Is there a smaller cab size (doesn't have to be marshal ) that anyone here can recommend? Preferably fitted with the same greenbacks ? Or even a smaller empty cab that I can fit a green back into?

* The tone of the amp

2). Am I missing something? I'm playing it with the Harley Benton Attenuator on and it sounds.....ok. I was expecting a little more from it. I was expecting something a little more distinct, like I heard in the YouTube videos (even with attenuation) sound so much better. What am I doing wrong ? Is the attenuator killing the tone? (I did wire it up wrong at the start - seems better now, but still left wondering)