• We are looking to make improvements to the Classifieds! Help us determine what improvements we can make by filling out this classifieds survey. Your feedback is very appreciated and helpful!

Take survey

Will the DSL1h with an mx2x12 or mx4x12 do for me?

Reaction score
Hi all,

long time lurker first time poster (finally registered). I have been a professional drummer since 1996 but for the past 15 years I’ve been managing Symphony orchestras. Over this time I’ve had an interest in dabbling on guitar (as many drummers do I’m sure).

Recently I decided to go back and learn properly (always finger picked only and wanted to finally learn how to use a pick), my son has also begun to learn so thought it would be fun to do it together.

Currently I play through a Marshall code 50 but to be honest the sound/tone just isn’t right for me. It’s very versatile in that it can kind of make sounds similar to lots of amps but none are really good enough to my ear. I own a 2005 Gibson Les Paul standard faded but am in the process of changing the burst bucket pros to the current slash alnico pro 2’s (I found the burst bucker pros, particularly the bridge pickup a bit nasally and am trying to get a warmer tone which these pickups seem to get from what I’ve read and heard).

Here is my question, as an 80’s kid I grew up listening to Guns N’ Roses, Metallica, AC/DC, nirvana and green day but also love Led Zeppelin, Eric Clapton, queen, the eagles, Lynyrd Skynyrd and others (mostly rock).

As I play at home I need an amp that can be quieter when needed but with a full sound. Obviously I would like to find an amp that is versatile to get me tones that can sound reasonable enough to play music from the above. I love the warmer, mellow tones that I hear from Slash in songs like November rain and estranged as well as Plex ish AC/DC sounds.